la Cité Internationale des Arts
Version anglaise
 
     

 
The Cité internationale des arts is a Foundation recognized of public utility which aims to welcome in residence foreigners and French professional artists in Paris. Each year, more than 1000 artists, coming from more than 55 countries stay in one of the 325 residence’s studios.

This institution was dreamed by Eero Snellman, a Finnish artist, during a speech he gave for the Exposition Universelle of Paris in 1937. After the Second World War, the project is taken up and developed by Mr. and Mrs. Felix Brunau with the support of the Ministry of Culture, the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development, the City of Paris, and the Academy of Fine Arts.
The first building, designed by a Franco-Tunisian architect Olivier-Clement Cacoub, is completed in 1965 and gradually other buildings were added and assigned by the City of Paris on two locations : in the district of Paris called “the Marais” (284 studios) and in Montmartre (40 studios).

70% of the studios are subscribed by French and foreign operators who designate artists-in-residence according to their own application conditions (duration, grants, etc.). 30% of the studios are kept for direct applications which are subject to a selection made by two committees of professionals (one dedicated to the visual arts, the other to the music). They meet twice a year.

Thus, the Cité internationale des arts stands at the crossroads of cultural policies carried by countries, local authorities and institutions on the one hand and residence's projects implemented directly implemented by artists-in-residence on the other hand.



City of Paris www.paris.fr
The Cité internationale des arts has strong ties with the City of Paris. The City of Paris acts as a subscriber for a number of studios. This enables young artists who come from countries with which the French capital maintains relations of cooperation to benefit from stays. The City of Paris offered a site in the Marais on which residencies has been built and complete them with old buildings on a site in Montmartre.

French Ministry of Culture and Communication www.culturecommunication.gouv.fr
The Ministry of Culture & Communication has accompanied the Cité internationale des Arts since its inception, granting it pride of place for initiatives undertaken to increase the prestige of France by furthering international dialogue in the arts.
The Ministry of Culture acts as a subscriber for 11 studios.

French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development www.diplomatie.gouv.fr
The French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development is also a founding member of the Cité internationale des Arts. It has delegated the management of its studio-flats to the Institut français, which awards them to foreign artists who want to develop a project of creation and research in Paris (visual arts, performing arts, arts & crafts, art critic and curator). All details about their residency program and the application form are available on www.institutfrancais.com in the section “Residencies and mobility”.


Académie des Beaux-Arts www.academie-des-beaux-arts.fr
L’Académie des Beaux-Arts, which has 2 studios at the Cité internationale des arts, aims to contribute to the defense and illustration of the French artistic heritage, as well as its development in pluralism expressions. It also supports the development of international artistic relations by establishing relations of cooperation and exchange.



Michel DAVID-WEILL
Del Duca
Librairie GRUND
Mme Suzanne GERET-BOYER
Louis et Guillaume GILLET de l'Institut de France
Mme Nicole LANDOLT-SANDOZ
Jean LEVEQUE
Lipp
Jean de MAILLY de l'Institut de France
Guy ROULIER
Bernard TUNZINI et Charles de WATTEVILLE


 
Analyse d'audience

la Cité Internationale des Arts
Version anglaise
 
http://citedesarts.pagesperso-orange.fr/cia-manifestations-culturelles-concerts-expositions-corridor-openstudio.html





 
La Cité internationale des arts est une Fondation reconnue d’utilité publique qui a pour vocation d’accueillir en résidence à Paris des artistes professionnels étrangers et français. Ainsi, chaque année, plus de 1000 artistes venus de plus de 50 pays séjournent dans l’un des 324 ateliers de résidence.

Cette institution a été rêvée par Eero Snellman, artiste finlandais, lors d’un discours prononcé à l’occasion de l’Exposition Universelle de Paris en 1937. C’est après la seconde guerre mondiale que cette idée fut reprise et développée par M. et Mme Félix Brunau avec le soutien du Ministère de la Culture, du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères, de la Ville de Paris, et de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts.
Un premier bâtiment dessiné par l’architecte franco-tunisien Olivier-Clément Cacoub a vu le jour en 1965 et progressivement d’autres bâtiments se sont adjoints, confiés par la Ville de Paris sur le site du Marais (284 ateliers) puis sur celui de Montmartre (40 ateliers)

70% des ateliers sont souscrits par des opérateurs étrangers et français qui désignent les résidents selon des modalités qui leur sont propres (durées, bourses). 30 % des ateliers sont réservés pour répondre aux candidatures individuelles qui font l’objet d’une sélection par deux commissions de professionnels (l’une dédiée aux arts visuels ; l’autre à la musique). Elles se réunissent deux fois par an.

Ainsi, la Cité internationale des Arts se trouve au croisement de politiques culturelles portées par des pays, des collectivités territoriales et des institutions d’une part et des projets de résidence directement mis en œuvre par les artistes.



La Ville de Paris www.paris.fr
La Cité internationale des arts entretient un lien étroit avec la Ville de Paris. Les ateliers qu’elle a souscrits lui permettent d’accueillir de jeunes artistes étrangers originaires de métropoles avec lesquelles la Ville entretient des relations de coopération décentralisée. La Ville de Paris a offert le terrain sur lequel ont été construit les résidences d’artistes et a complété ce dispositif par des bâtiments sur le site du Marais et celui de Montmartre.

Le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication www.culture.gouv.fr
Le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication accompagne la Cité internationale des Arts depuis sa création et la place au cœur de la réflexion pour l’amélioration et la participation de la France au dialogue artistique international dans le domaine des arts visuels. Le Minitère de la Culture est le souscripteur de 11 studios.

Le Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes www.diplomatie.gouv.fr
Le Ministère des affaires étrangères et européennes est membre fondateur de la Cité internationale des Arts. La gestion des ateliers dont il dispose a été déléguée à l’Institut Français. Ceux-ci sont attribués à des artistes étrangers qui souhaitent développer un projet de création et de recherche à Paris (arts visuels, arts de la scène, arts décoratifs, critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition). Tous les détails concernant ce programme de résidences ainsi que le formulaire de candidature sont disponibles sur le site de l’Institut Français (www.institutfrancais.com) à la rubrique "Résidences et Mobilité".

Académie des Beaux-Arts www.academie-des-beaux-arts.fr
L’Académie des Beaux-Arts, qui dispose de 2 ateliers à la Cité internationale des Arts, a pour vocation de contribuer à la défense et à l’illustration du patrimoine artistique de la France, ainsi qu’à son développement dans le pluralisme des expressions. Elle concourt également au développement des relations artistiques internationales en établissant des rapports de coopération et d’échanges.



Michel DAVID-WEILL
Del Duca
Librairie GRUND
Mme Suzanne GERET-BOYER
Louis et Guillaume GILLET de l'Institut de France
Mme Nicole LANDOLT-SANDOZ
Jean LEVEQUE
Lipp
Jean de MAILLY de l'Institut de France
Guy ROULIER
Bernard TUNZINI et Charles de WATTEVILLE

     
     
     
Fondation d'utilité publique qui reçoit le soutien de :
Cité Internationale des Arts (résidence d'artistes).18, rue de l'Hôtel de Ville, 75004, Paris.
Tel : (33)1 42 78 71 72 | Fax : (33)1 42 78 40 54 | Email : contact@citedesartsparis.fr
Tous droits réservés.